Gemstone Education

Official List of State Gemstones of the US

As there are birthstones and anniversary stones, there are also state gemstones.

As the term implies, these have been designated by the various states in the US as their official gemstone or gem.

Not all of the fifty states in the US have assigned themselves a gemstone or gem, but a large percentage has done so decades ago.

Brief Introduction on States Gemstones in the United StatesBenitoite state gemstone

In the United States, there are certain places that have considerable mineral deposits. Many of these states have then created their own state gemstones, minerals, rocks, or stones.

One of the main reasons behind idea is because states seek to promote interest in the natural resources they possess.

In addition, designating these mineral deposits as an official component of their state also boosts the interests in their tourism and history.

Officially Designated State Gemstones in the United States

Out of the 50 states in the United States, 35 have already claimed and assigned an official gemstone or gem. Nevada and Montana have named two, one of which is a semiprecious gemstone, while the other is a precious gemstone.

Although the laws often refer to them as ‘gems’, not all of them are actually sparkling crystals. The majority of these official gemstones or gems are colorful rocks that are at their best when polished and flat.

A lot of locals own items that feature these gemstones as they have a certain democratic and nationalistic appeal.

Here is a list of the designated gemstones or gems for each state, as well as the year they were officially established:

  • Alabama – Star Blue Quartz, 1990
  • Alaska – Nephrite Jade, 1968
  • Arizona – Turquoise, 1974
  • Arkansas – Diamond, 1967
  • California – Benitoite, 1985
  • Colorado – Aquamarine, 1971
  • Florida – Moonstone, 1970
  • Georgia – Quartz, 1976
  • Hawaii – Black Coral, 1987
  • Idaho – Star Garnet, 1967
  • Kentucky – Freshwater Pearl, 1986
  • Louisiana – Crassostrea Virginica Eastern Oyster shell, 2011
  • Maryland – Patuxent River Stone, 2004
  • Massachusetts – Rhodonite, 1979
  • Michigan – Chlorostrolite, 1972
  • Minnesota – Lake Superior Agate, 1969
  • Montana – Sapphire, 1969
  • Nebraska – Blue Agate, 1943
  • Nevada – Black Fire Opal, 1987
  • New Hampshire – Smoky Quartz, 1985
  • New Mexico – Turquoise, 1967
  • New York – Garnet, 1969
  • North Carolina – Emerald, 1973
  • Ohio – Ohio Flint, 1965
  • Oregon – Oregon Sunstone labradorite, 1987
  • South Carolina – Amethyst, 1969
  • South Dakota – Fairburn agate, 1966
  • Tennessee – Tennessee River Pearl, 1979
  • Texas – Texas Blue Topaz, 1969
  • Utah – Topaz, 1969
  • Vermont – Grossular Garnet, 1992
  • Washington – Petrified Wood,’1975
  • West Virginia – Mississippian Lithostrotionella Fossil Coral, 1990
  • Wyoming – Wyoming Nephrite Jade, 1967

Official State Minerals and State Rocks in the United States

In addition to official state gemstones, many states also have their own state minerals and state rocks. Out of the 50 US states, 19 have declared a state mineral. The minerals range from the obscure to the curious.

Another 25 states have designated official state stones or state rocks. These stones or rocks include ores, building stones, and fossils among many others.

Gem Coach

1 Comment

  1. Anonymous
    May 21, 2014 at 2:06 pm — Reply

    just what i needed for my project

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *